wildlife days

Yesterday I was jumped on by a snake. I don’t think it meant to jump on me, it was scared and needed to get down off the sink and it’s steering while flying is not well developed. Needless to say I squeaked quite loudly and we were both as scared as each other by the time he reached the ground and slithered off into a hole. Not grass snake, not slow worm but I didn’t get any further than that and I am not sure I want to know at that stage!

We have also got to know some of our nightly visitors better. The beech martens seem to be a family and have been noisily active for the last week. They have (much like British hedgehogs) discovered the ease of catfood and there seems to be a nightly race between them and the outside cat, Butch, to see who can get to the catfood first.

M2E1L0-8R350B300

There was even greater excitement in the house this morning when we discovered a new night visitor!

M2E1L0-8R350B300

I shall be dusting off all my hedgehog feeding stations forthwith!

4 responses to “wildlife days

Leave a Reply

